Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Daily Cardinal Est. 1892
Thursday, October 06, 2022

About Us

The Daily Cardinal

2142 Vilas Communication Hall

821 University Avenue

Madison, Wis. 53706-1497

(608) 262-8000 - Fax (608) 262-8100

The Daily Cardinal is online every day, published in print each Thursday and distributed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the surrounding community with a circulation of 10,000.

The Cardinal is a nonprofit organization run by its staff members and elected editors. It receives no funds from the university and is completely independent. Operating revenue is generated from advertising and subscription sales.

The Cardinal was founded in 1892 by William Wesley Young who named the paper after UW-Madison's official colors, cardinal and white. 

Capital Newspapers, Inc. is the Cardinal's printer. The Daily Cardinal is printed on recycled paper. The Cardinal is a member of the  Associated Collegiate Press and the Wisconsin Newspaper Association. 

How to get involved 

Interested in writing for The Daily Cardinal? Check the "Join the Flock" page for more information! 

Who to follow

Twitter:  @dailycardinal, @Cardinal_Sports, @Cardinal_Arts, @CardPolitics

Facebook:  The Daily Cardinal

Instagram:  The Daily Cardinal

YouTube:  The Daily Cardinal

Spotify: The Student Dive

Advertising Information

Click here for advertising information.

Contact Information

Send letters to the editor to:  editor@dailycardinal.com. Please send event listings to me@dailycardinal.com. Comments regarding the website and newspaper in general may be sent to edit@dailycardinal.com.

To contact a specific person, please see the list below.

Editorial Staff

Editor-In-Chief - x211

Sophia Vento

editor@dailycardinal.com

Managing Editor - x212

Jessica Sonkin

me@dailycardinal.com

News Manager 

Hope Karnopp

newsmanager@dailycardinal.com

Campus Editor 

Alison Stecker

campus@dailycardinal.com

College Editor 

Anthony Trombi

college@dailycardinal.com

City Editor 

Charlie Hildebrand

city@dailycardinal.com

State Editor

Tyler Katzenberger

state@dailycardinal.com

Associate Editor

Ellie Bourdo

news@dailycardinal.com

Features Editor

Annabella Rosciglione

features@dailycardinal.com

Special Pages Editor

Zoe Bendoff

specialpages@dailycardinal.com

Podcast Director

Elena Price

podcast@dailycardinal.com

Opinion Editors

Priyanka Vasavan and Ethan Wollins

opinion@dailycardinal.com

Editorial Board Chair

Em-J Krigsman

editorialboard@dailycardinal.com

Editorial Board

Em-J Krigsman, Anupras Mohapatra, Jessica Sonkin, Sophia Vento, Ethan Wollins

Arts Editors

Jeffrey Brown and Hannah Ritvo

arts@dailycardinal.com

Sports Editors

Donnie Slusher and Cole Wozniak

sports@dailycardinal.com

The Beet Editor

Mackenzie Moore

thebeet@dailycardinal.com

Life & Style Editor

Sophie Walk

lifestyle@dailycardinal.com

Science Editor

Julia Wiessing

science@dailycardinal.com

Photo Editor

Drake White-Bergey

photo@dailycardinal.com

Graphics Editors

Jennifer Schaller and Madi Sherman

graphics@dailycardinal.com

Copy Chiefs

Kodie Engst and Ella Gorodetzky

copy@dailycardinal.com

Business Staff

Business Manager - x205

Asher Anderson and Brandon Sanger

business@dailycardinal.com

Advertising Managers - x201

Noal Basil and Sydney Hawk

ads@dailycardinal.com

Marketing Director

Mason Waas

marketing@dailycardinal.com

Social Media Manager

Clare McManamon

socialmedia@dailycardinal.com

Where to find The Daily Cardinal



Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2022 The Daily Cardinal