About Us

The Daily Cardinal

2142 Vilas Communication Hall
821 University Avenue
Madison, Wis. 53706-1497
(608) 262-8000 - Fax (608) 262-8100

The Daily Cardinal is online every day, published in print each Thursday and distributed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the surrounding community with a circulation of 10,000.

The Cardinal is a nonprofit organization run by its staff members and elected editors. It receives no funds from the university and is completely independent. Operating revenue is generated from advertising and subscription sales.

The Cardinal was founded in 1892 by William Wesley Young who named the paper after UW-Madison's official colors, cardinal and white. 

Capital Newspapers, Inc. is the Cardinal's printer. The Daily Cardinal is printed on recycled paper. The Cardinal is a member of the  Associated Collegiate Press and the Wisconsin Newspaper Association

How to get involved 

Interested in writing for The Daily Cardinal? Email  editor@dailycardinal.com for more information on how to get involved! 

Who to follow

Twitter:  @dailycardinal@Cardinal_Sports@Cardinal_Arts@CardPolitics

Facebook:  The Daily Cardinal

Instagram:  The Daily Cardinal

YouTube:  The Daily Cardinal

Advertising Information

Click here for advertising information.

Contact Information

Send letters to the editor to:  editor@dailycardinal.com. Please send event listings to marketing@dailycardinal.com. Comments regarding the website and newspaper in general may be sent to edit@dailycardinal.com.

To contact a specific person, please see the list below.

Editorial Staff

Editor-In-Chief - x210
Robyn Cawley
editor@dailycardinal.com

Managing Editor - x211
Erin Jordan
me@dailycardinal.com

News Manager - x226, 227, 228
Sydney Widell 
news@dailycardinal.com

Campus Editor 
Defang Zhang
campus@dailycardinal.com

College Editor 
Dana Brandt
college@dailycardinal.com

City Editor 
Allison Garfield
city@dailycardinal.com

State Editor
Jessica Lipaz
state@dailycardinal.com

Associate Editor
Will Husted
news@dailycardinal.com

Social Media Manager
Abby Friday
socialmedia@dailycardinal.com

Opinion Editors
Kavitha Babu and Sam Jones
opinion@dailycardinal.com

Editorial Board Chair
PENDING  

Editorial Board
Robyn Cawley, Erin Jordan, Kavitha Babu and Sam Jones
editorialboard@dailycardinal.com

Arts Editors
John Everman and Lauren Souza  
arts@dailycardinal.com

Sports Editors
Nathan Denzin and Jared Schwartz
sports@dailycardinal.com

Features Editor
Sonya Chechik
features@dailycardinal.com

Multimedia Editor
Ethan Huskey
multimedia@dailycardinal.com

Almanac Editors
Kellen Sharp and Haley Bills
almanac@dailycardinal.com

Life & Style Editor
Colleen Muraca
lifestyle@dailycardinal.com

Science Editor
Tyler Fox
science@dailycardinal.com

Photo Editors
Kalli Anderson and Will Cioci
photo@dailycardinal.com

Graphics Editors
Max Homstad and Channing Smith
graphics@dailycardinal.com

Special Pages Editors
Kayla Huynh and Justine Spore

Copy Chiefs
Emily Johnson, Haley Mades and Olivia Poches
copy@dailycardinal.com

Business Staff

Business Managers - x204
Kyven Lee and Daniel Devkalis
business@dailycardinal.com

Advertising Managers - x201
Daniel Tryba, Ally Moore and Nicholas Dotson
ads@dailycardinal.com

Business Office
business@dailycardinal.com

Marketing Director
marketing@dailycardinal.com

Where to find The Daily Cardinal