About Us

The Daily Cardinal

2142 Vilas Communication Hall

821 University Avenue

Madison, Wis. 53706-1497

(608) 262-8000 - Fax (608) 262-8100

The Daily Cardinal is online every day, published in print each Thursday and distributed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the surrounding community with a circulation of 10,000.

The Cardinal is a nonprofit organization run by its staff members and elected editors. It receives no funds from the university and is completely independent. Operating revenue is generated from advertising and subscription sales.

The Cardinal was founded in 1892 by William Wesley Young who named the paper after UW-Madison's official colors, cardinal and white. 

Capital Newspapers, Inc. is the Cardinal's printer. The Daily Cardinal is printed on recycled paper. The Cardinal is a member of the  Associated Collegiate Press and the Wisconsin Newspaper Association. 

How to get involved 

Interested in writing for The Daily Cardinal? Email editor@dailycardinal.com  or a specific desk below for more information on how to get involved! 

Who to follow

Twitter:  @dailycardinal, @Cardinal_Sports, @Cardinal_Arts, @CardPolitics

Facebook:  The Daily Cardinal

Instagram:  The Daily Cardinal

YouTube:  The Daily Cardinal

Advertising Information

Click here for advertising information.

Contact Information

Send letters to the editor to:  editor@dailycardinal.com. Please send event listings to me@dailycardinal.com. Comments regarding the website and newspaper in general may be sent to edit@dailycardinal.com.

To contact a specific person, please see the list below.

Editorial Staff

Editors-In-Chief - x211

Kalli Anderson and Will Cioci

editor@dailycardinal.com

Managing Editor - x211

Erin Jordan

me@dailycardinal.com

Campus Editor 

Jessica Sonkin

campus@dailycardinal.com

College Editor 

Gina Musso

college@dailycardinal.com

City Editor 

Addison Lathers

city@dailycardinal.com

State Editor

Hope Karnopp

state@dailycardinal.com

Associate Editor

Michael Parsky

news@dailycardinal.com

Social Media Manager

Miriam Jaber

socialmedia@dailycardinal.com

Opinion Editors

Anupras Mohapatra and Riley Sumner

opinion@dailycardinal.com

Editorial Board Chair

Kavitha Babu

Editorial Board

Will Cioci, Kalli Anderson, Anupras Mohapatra and Riley Sumner

editorialboard@dailycardinal.com

Arts Editors

Raynee Hamilton and Emily Knepple 

arts@dailycardinal.com

Sports Editors

Joe Rickles and Simon Farber

sports@dailycardinal.com

Features Editor

Morgan Lock

features@dailycardinal.com

Almanac Editors

Jordan Simon

almanac@dailycardinal.com

Life & Style Editor

Allie Sprink

lifestyle@dailycardinal.com

Science Editor

Gavin Schopf

science@dailycardinal.com

Photo Editors

Taylor Wolfram and Clayton Jannusch

photo@dailycardinal.com

Graphics Editor

Lyra Evans

graphics@dailycardinal.com

Special Pages Editors

Kayla Huynh and Lauren Souza

Copy Chiefs

Grace Hodgman and Haley Mades

copy@dailycardinal.com

Business Staff

Business Manager - x205

Asher Anderson

business@dailycardinal.com

Advertising Manager - x201

Nicholas Dotson

ads@dailycardinal.com

Marketing Director

marketing@dailycardinal.com

Where to find The Daily Cardinal