Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Daily Cardinal Est. 1892
Tuesday, April 23, 2024
Alex Erickson

Alex Erickson is one of four Wisconsin football players to be named to the Hampshire Honor Society. 

Four Badgers earn academic honor

Alex Erickson, Tyler Marz, Joel Stave and Derek Watt were named to the Hampshire Honor Society Thursday, according to a UW press release.

The Hampshire Honor Society, a 10-year-old recognition for college football players with a cumulative 3.2 grade-point average, is commissioned by the National Football Foundation. According to NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell, “The Hampshire Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence.”

Fourteen Badgers have been named to the society since its inception. The four UW players earning the recognition is the most since 2012, when Bradie Ewing, Peter Konz, Brad Nortman and Russell Wilson were recognized.

Erickson earned a degree in agricultural business management, Marz received a bachelor’s degree in life sciences communication and is pursuing a master’s degree in educational leadership and policy analysis, Stave earned a degree in civil engineering and Watt received a degree in marketing.

Support your local paper
Donate Today
The Daily Cardinal has been covering the University and Madison community since 1892. Please consider giving today.

Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 The Daily Cardinal