Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Daily Cardinal Est. 1892
Thursday, February 29, 2024
Hughes, Bohannon, Leuer earn Big Ten regular-season honors

Hughes: Senior guard Trevon Hughes was one of three UW players to receive recognition in the regular-season Big Ten awards.

Hughes, Bohannon, Leuer earn Big Ten regular-season honors

The Big Ten announced its end-of-the-year awards late Monday, and the selections included Wisconsin senior guards Trevon Hughes and Jason Bohannon and junior forward Jon Leuer.

The 2009-'10 All-Big Ten Men's Basketball Team incudes Hughes as a member of the second team and Bohannon on the third team. Hughes scored a team-high 15.4 points per game this year, good for eighth in the conference. Bohannon scored 12 points per game this season, 20th in the Big Ten. Hughes shot 39.6 percent from long distance, and Bohannon shot 41.1 percent.

Leuer, despite missing nine games this season because of a wrist injury, earned an honorable mention. In 21 games this season, Leuer scored 14.9 points per game and hauled in a team-high 5.7 rebounds per contest.

Enjoy what you're reading? Get content from The Daily Cardinal delivered to your inbox

Some believed head coach Bo Ryan would be named the Big Ten Head coach of the year after guiding his squad to fourth place in the conference after being picked by the media to finish eighth. Instead, the media chose Ohio State head coach Thad Matta, whose Buckeyes won a share of the Big Ten title.

OSU junior forward Evan Turner was named the conference's player of the year. Joining him on the first team were Illinoi junior guard Demetri McCamey, MSU sophomore guard Kalin Lucas and Purdue junior forward Robbie Hummel and junior guard E'Twaun Moore.


Support your local paper
Donate Today
The Daily Cardinal has been covering the University and Madison community since 1892. Please consider giving today.

Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 The Daily Cardinal