City News

Third Madison Common Council member this summer resigns

Image By: Leah Voskuil and Leah Voskuil

Madison Alder Sara Eskrich, District 13, announced her resignation from the Common Council Wednesday. She is the third member to do so within two months.

In her resignation letter, Ald. Eskrich said she had accepted an offer for an executive position in Brookfield, which would not leave her enough time to focus on city matters.

“I am proud of all the work we have done together, and look forward to continuing to see our city prosper as a resident of Madison,” Eskrich said.

Ald. Eskrich follows former Council President Mark Clear, District 19, who also cited accepting a new job as his reason for resigning earlier this summer. Ald. Denise DeMarb was the first to resign this summer, leaving her District 16 seat after moving from the area.

The Common Council Executive Committee recommended Michael Tierney and Keith Furman to the District 16 and 19 seats, respectively. Tierney was sworn in at the council meeting Tuesday night.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Daily Cardinal.