About Us

The Daily Cardinal

2142 Vilas Communication Hall
821 University Avenue
Madison, Wis. 53706-1497
(608) 262-8000 - Fax (608) 262-8100

The Daily Cardinal is online every day, published in print each Thursday and distributed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the surrounding community with a circulation of 10,000.

The Cardinal is a nonprofit organization run by its staff members and elected editors. It receives no funds from the university and is completely independent. Operating revenue is generated from advertising and subscription sales.

The Cardinal was founded in 1892 by William Wesley Young who named the paper after UW-Madison's official colors, cardinal and white. 

Capital Newspapers, Inc. is the Cardinal's printer. The Daily Cardinal is printed on recycled paper. The Cardinal is a member of the  Associated Collegiate Press and the Wisconsin Newspaper Association

How to get involved 

Interested in writing for The Daily Cardinal? Email  editor@dailycardinal.com for more information on how to get involved! 

Who to follow

Twitter:  @dailycardinal@Cardinal_Sports

Facebook:  The Daily Cardinal

Instagram:  The Daily Cardinal

YouTube:  The Daily Cardinal

Advertising Information

Click here for advertising information.

Contact Information

Send letters to the editor to:  editor@dailycardinal.com. Please send event listings to marketing@dailycardinal.com. Comments regarding the website and newspaper in general may be sent to edit@dailycardinal.com.

To contact a specific person, please see the list below.

Editorial Staff

Editor-In-Chief - x210
Sammy Gibbons
editor@dailycardinal.com

Managing Editor - x211
Samantha Nesovanovic
me@dailycardinal.com

News Manager - x226, 227, 228
Andy Goldstein 
news@dailycardinal.com

Campus Editor 
Lawrence Andrea
campus@dailycardinal.com

College Editor 
Robyn Cawley
college@dailycardinal.com

City Editor 
Jon Brockman
city@dailycardinal.com

State Editor
Andy Goldstein
state@dailycardinal.com

Associate Editor
Sydney Widell
news@dailycardinal.com

Social Media Manager
Ella Johnson
socialmedia@dailycardinal.com

Opinion Editors
Jake Price and Izzy Boudnik
opinion@dailycardinal.com

Editorial Board Chair
Jake Price
jake.price@dailycardinal.com   

Editorial Board
Sammy Gibbons, Samantha Nesovanovic, Jake Price, Izzy Boudnik, Savannah McHugh, Sam Jones
editorialboard@dailycardinal.com

Arts Editors
Allison Garfield and Brandon Arbuckle  
arts@dailycardinal.com

Sports Editors
Bremen Keasey and Cameron Lane-Flehigner
sports@dailycardinal.com

Features Editor
Gracie Wallner  
features@dailycardinal.com

Multimedia Editors
Hannah Schwarz and Asia Christoffel
multimedia@dailycardinal.com

Almanac Editors
Savannah McHugh and Sam Jones
almanac@dailycardinal.com

Life & Style Editor
Ally Jansen
lifestyle@dailycardinal.com

Science Editor
Tyler Fox
science@dailycardinal.com

Photo Editors
Cameron Lane-Flehinger and Brandon Moe 
photo@dailycardinal.com

Graphics Editors
Laura Mahoney and Max Homstad
graphics@dailycardinal.com

Special Pages Editors
Haley Sirota and Justine Spore 

Copy Chiefs
Erin Jordan, Dana Brandt and Kayla Huynh 
copy@dailycardinal.com

Business Staff

Business Managers - x204
Mike Barth and Shirley Yang
business@dailycardinal.com

Advertising Managers - x201
Kia Pourmodheji and Abby Friday
ads@dailycardinal.com

Business Office
business@dailycardinal.com

Marketing Director
Elizabeth Jortberg
marketing@dailycardinal.com